Giving News  

« Return to Campaign's Latest Updates

UTSA announces new Development Board members as We Are UTSA – A Top-Tier Campaign reaches nearly 92% of goal

The University of Texas at San Antonio today announced the appointment of nine new members to its Development Board, which advances the university’s mission by encouraging the community to support the university. Development Board Chairman Kenny Wilson, president of Bank of America for Central and South Texas, formally welcomed the new members at the board’s fall meeting.

The new members from San Antonio are:

  • Kevin Belgrade, The Terra Vista Group
  • Scott Carpenter, Toyota Manufacturing Texas
  • Trish DeBerry, The DeBerry Group
  • Don Frost, Frost Bank
  • Brenda Vickrey Johnson, Vickrey & Associates
  • Cindy Jorgensen (MBA ’00), SWBC
  • G. P. Singh, founder of Karta Technologies, Inc.

Also named as new board members are Pat Clynes (BBA ’89), BP Energy, from Houston, and Janice Meyr (BBA ’79), B&R Supply & Equipment Company, from Corpus Christi

At the meeting, it was announced that the university’s first capital campaign has reached $110 million, or 91.6%, of a $120 million goal. The campaign had its public launch on April 12 and is scheduled to close in December 2015.

The University of Texas at San Antonio Development Board is composed of some 50 community and business leaders who serve as champions for the university and help raise resources to support the school’s mission. To serve on the board is one of the highest-level volunteer opportunities at the university. As an advisory group to the president and the university advancement division, the board has been instrumental in UTSA’s first capital campaign, We Are UTSA – A Top-Tier Campaign, which has a $120 million goal.